Home Download Buy Blog Forum Support

Sublime Text 3 Beta

Re: Sublime Text 3 Beta

Postby lunixbochs on Tue Jan 29, 2013 9:06 am

I just (mostly) ported sublimelint. Looks like view.set_status() is broken?
It won't trigger reliably for me inside on_selection_modified() *every other view I select*. On odd views, it just swallows the status update. Even the built-in line/column number won't update.

So if I select views 1, 2, 3, 4 in order it'll only work for views 1, 3 or 2, 4. If I then select 1, 3, 2, 4 in order? It'll only work for 1, 2 or 3, 4.

I'm on OSX with build 3006.
lunixbochs
 
Posts: 91
Joined: Fri Oct 08, 2010 10:18 pm

Re: Sublime Text 3 Beta

Postby jps on Tue Jan 29, 2013 9:10 am

TheFelikZ wrote:I'm working with a huge project on PHP (thousands of files) and sublime text going to be crazy when tryed to index that. Even after close project and window tab associated with, other windows with other project still has performance issues until restart of sublime text.

Indexing is fully asynchronous, and does no work in the main thread. I do most of my testing using the chromium project (>100k files), and observe no slowdowns.
jps
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3067
Joined: Wed Mar 19, 2008 12:33 pm

Re: Sublime Text 3 Beta

Postby jps on Tue Jan 29, 2013 9:11 am

wuub wrote:Can plugin_host be launched separately from the editor? Unit testing plugins would be great.

Unfortunately It's not possible, as plugin_host isn't responsible for the implementation of the API, just for communication with the main sublime_text process over shared memory.
jps
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3067
Joined: Wed Mar 19, 2008 12:33 pm

Re: Sublime Text 3 Beta

Postby xeno.by on Tue Jan 29, 2013 9:14 am

@jps Is the new name for the app on OSX ("Sublime Text", without a version number) intentional? It's great that I can install the new beta side-by-side with ST2, but there's a small inconsistency in naming. Maybe "Sublime Text 3" would sound better? (Sure I can rename the installation folder, but still).
xeno.by
 
Posts: 106
Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2012 10:03 am
Location: Lausanne, Switzerland

Re: Sublime Text 3 Beta

Postby jps on Tue Jan 29, 2013 9:14 am

planet wrote:JPS, can you comment on the upgrade process (OSX)? I understand that plugins will probably be broken. But what about user settings, key bindings, macros, etc.? Is it possible to install ST3 separately?


Sublime Text 3 is entirely independent from Sublime Text 2, they use different data directory locations, and you can both be run at the same time.

Everything other than plugins should work more or less the same. However, don't simply copy your entire Packages directory from Sublime Text 2 to Sublime Text 3, as that will override all the new and updated resources in Sublime Text 3, resulting in various things not working.
jps
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3067
Joined: Wed Mar 19, 2008 12:33 pm

Re: Sublime Text 3 Beta

Postby kblomqvist on Tue Jan 29, 2013 9:15 am

Great news that ST is going forward! Congrats!

@jps Could you please consider expanding ST3 API with window.open_project()?
http://sublimetext.userecho.com/topic/1 ... n_project/
kblomqvist
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2012 4:14 pm

Re: Sublime Text 3 Beta

Postby jps on Tue Jan 29, 2013 9:18 am

xeno.by wrote:@jps Is the new name for the app on OSX ("Sublime Text", without a version number) intentional? It's great that I can install the new beta side-by-side with ST2, but there's a small inconsistency in naming. Maybe "Sublime Text 3" would sound better? (Sure I can rename the installation folder, but still).

Yep, it's intentional: the version number is being emphasized less now. The whole "Sublime Text 2" came about from the original name, "Sublime Text X", which was the initial experimental cross platform version. From there, it made the most sense to just turn the X into a 2. Long term, it's better for the application to simply be "Sublime Text".
jps
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3067
Joined: Wed Mar 19, 2008 12:33 pm

Re: Sublime Text 3 Beta

Postby xeno.by on Tue Jan 29, 2013 9:19 am

@jps Is indexing for Scala supported or going to be supported? https://twitter.com/jboner/status/296167901403160576
xeno.by
 
Posts: 106
Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2012 10:03 am
Location: Lausanne, Switzerland

Re: Sublime Text 3 Beta

Postby j0k on Tue Jan 29, 2013 9:21 am

Does Symbol Indexing works only for opened files? It seems that if I close a file, Goto Symbol in Project doesn't find any functions that are inside the closed file. Is there an option to enabled/not enabled?

About the follow_symlinks option, where should I add it ? In the .sublime-project ? Like that:

Code: Select all
{
  "folders":
  [
    {
      "path": "/Z/myproject"
    }
  ],
  "follow_symlinks": true
}
j0k
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2013 9:15 am

Re: Sublime Text 3 Beta

Postby jps on Tue Jan 29, 2013 9:22 am

The symbol indexing relies on the .tmLanguage file defining symbols. In general, if you see symbols via Goto Symbol (Ctrl+R / Command+R), then the same symbols should be getting indexed.

If the symbols are showing up in Goto Symbol, but aren't getting indexed, then a couple of preferences will need to be set in a .tmPreferences file. I'll happily explain what's required if this is what you're seeing.
jps
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3067
Joined: Wed Mar 19, 2008 12:33 pm

PreviousNext

Return to General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: excalibur1976 and 18 guests