Home Download Buy Blog Forum Support

Build 3010

Build 3010

Postby jps on Sun Feb 03, 2013 3:01 pm

Sublime Text Build 3010 is out, with a better behaved indexer, and significantly improved performance on Retina displays. Other platforms will receive a small boost in rendering speed, too.
jps
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3062
Joined: Wed Mar 19, 2008 12:33 pm

Re: Build 3010

Postby gregor.hoch on Sun Feb 03, 2013 3:44 pm

In ST2 there used to be this option for high resolution or retina displays. Is it correct that ST3 sets this option automatically depending on the resolution of your display?

I am asking because "Look Up" on Mac OX doesn't work anymore in ST3 when I am working with a Thunderbolt display. "Look Up" is this popup when you tap a word with three fingers showing the dictionary entry. It's extremely helpful for writing (HTML, tex etc). In ST3 it does work when I am just on my Air but it stops working when I am using my external Thunderbolt display. In ST2, it only worked when this option for high resolution displays was turned off.

Any chance that you can fix "Look Up"?
gregor.hoch
 
Posts: 141
Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2011 7:54 pm

Re: Build 3010

Postby facelessuser on Sun Feb 03, 2013 3:47 pm

Thanks for adding the insert functionality. I know your busy with a lot more important stuff. Just want to express my appreciation for taking time to fulfill my request.
facelessuser
 
Posts: 1542
Joined: Tue Apr 05, 2011 7:38 pm

Re: Build 3010

Postby sublimator on Sun Feb 03, 2013 4:18 pm

facelessuser wrote:Thanks


+1

And unless I'm losing my mind he seems to have tweaked the QuickPanel fuzzy matching such that it works nicely with soft columns again like in ST2
It is better to remain silent and be thought a fool, than to speak out and remove all doubt
sublimator
 
Posts: 649
Joined: Thu Mar 20, 2008 5:41 am

Re: Build 3010

Postby ahojnnes on Sun Feb 03, 2013 4:45 pm

Minor important bug: custom color schemes are not sorted in alphabetical order in menu.
ahojnnes
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jun 14, 2012 10:53 am

Re: Build 3010

Postby chrisguilbeau on Sun Feb 03, 2013 6:07 pm

I think this is a bug unless I misunderstand the API:

When calling

Code: Select all
view.show(placeToGo)


There is no refresh, as soon as you move the cursor or scroll the view (even a pixel) everything refreshes. The only workaround I've found is to set (scroll past the end) to true and manually scroll the view a little. Below is an example of the problem.

Code: Select all
import sublime_plugin

class NextInterestingThing(sublime_plugin.WindowCommand):
    rex = '(^[\ \t]*(class|def)[\ \t]+\w+[\ \t]*\(.*$|(?![\w\W])|\Z|\n\n\w)'

    def run(self):
        view = self.window.active_view()
        # get current line
        curPoint = view.line(view.sel()[0].a).b
        found = view.find(self.rex, curPoint)
        placeToGo = view.line(found.b)
        if placeToGo:
            view.sel().clear()
            view.sel().add(placeToGo)
            view.show(placeToGo)
            for delta in [1, -1]:
                x, y = view.viewport_position()
                view.set_viewport_position((x, y + delta))
chrisguilbeau
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Nov 11, 2011 5:06 am

Re: Build 3010

Postby fcoury on Sun Feb 03, 2013 6:26 pm

Hey John,

Any chance you can fix this one here:

viewtopic.php?f=3&t=10825

Thanks.

-- Felipe.
fcoury
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2011 5:13 pm

Re: Build 3010

Postby quarnster on Sun Feb 03, 2013 7:55 pm

significantly improved performance on Retina displays


Significant indeed :)

Are the python console and other panels rendering via the same mechanisms? Maybe it's something theme specific (I'm on Phoenix Dark) but scrolling in the python console and output panels is much slower compared to regular views.
quarnster
 
Posts: 389
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2011 11:34 am

Re: Build 3010

Postby jps on Mon Feb 04, 2013 1:30 am

gregor.hoch wrote:In ST2 there used to be this option for high resolution or retina displays. Is it correct that ST3 sets this option automatically depending on the resolution of your display?

Any chance that you can fix "Look Up"?

It's still controlled by the same setting, gpu_window_buffer, but the default value of auto now applies to more displays.

I suspect I have no control over the "Look Up" functionality, unfortunately.
jps
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3062
Joined: Wed Mar 19, 2008 12:33 pm

Re: Build 3010

Postby qgates on Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:27 am

Performance seems to have improved generally, and the indexer doesnt seem to be spawning so many "rogue" processes.

Now, if only I could get rid of that damn menubar in Linux (please!)

Keep up the good work :)
qgates
 
Posts: 205
Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2012 4:33 pm

Next

Return to General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 17 guests