Home Download Buy Blog Forum Support

ST3 some Edit menu options are disabled, Toggle comment, etc

ST3 some Edit menu options are disabled, Toggle comment, etc

Postby James Andres on Sun Feb 24, 2013 9:10 pm

Hello ST forum,

I am using build 3012 of ST3 on OS X 10.8.2. Is this a known issue with ST3 currently or others not experiencing this issue (ie: maybe one of my plugins is causing this). All of these menu options are permanently disabled for me (and more too!):

  • Edit > Line > Duplicate line
  • Edit > Comment > Toggle comment
  • Edit > Comment > Toggle block comment

Overall ST3 is working well for me, but this one issue is making it almost unusable. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
James Andres
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Feb 24, 2013 9:03 pm

Re: ST3 some Edit menu options are disabled, Toggle comment, etc

Postby skuroda on Sun Feb 24, 2013 10:33 pm

Noticed this too. Probably has something to do with the following errors in the console.

Code: Select all
launching: /C/Program Files/Sublime Text 3/plugin_host.exe
reloading plugin Default.block
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "C:\Program Files\Sublime Text 3\sublime_plugin.py", line 70, in reload_plugin
    m = importlib.import_module(modulename)
  File "X/importlib/__init__.py", line 88, in import_module
  File "<frozen importlib._bootstrap>", line 1577, in _gcd_import
  File "<frozen importlib._bootstrap>", line 1558, in _find_and_load
  File "<frozen importlib._bootstrap>", line 1522, in _find_and_load_unlocked
ImportError: No module named 'Default.block'


I bet if we looked, all of the failed loads correspond to disabled menu items.
skuroda
 
Posts: 677
Joined: Fri Oct 05, 2012 8:11 am

Re: ST3 some Edit menu options are disabled, Toggle comment, etc

Postby jps on Mon Feb 25, 2013 2:00 am

This should not be happening on a clean install: http://www.sublimetext.com/docs/3/revert.html
jps
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3067
Joined: Wed Mar 19, 2008 12:33 pm

Re: ST3 some Edit menu options are disabled, Toggle comment, etc

Postby James Andres on Mon Feb 25, 2013 6:45 pm

Will try a clean install and report back.
James Andres
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Feb 24, 2013 9:03 pm

Re: ST3 some Edit menu options are disabled, Toggle comment, etc

Postby James Andres on Mon Feb 25, 2013 7:06 pm

Okay, I've kept a backup of my
Code: Select all
~/Library/Application Support/Sublime Text 3
directory and reinstalled. The issue is fixed until I enable the SublimeCodeIntel package. So it seems that's at fault. Will report the bug over there.

Thanks all!
James Andres
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Feb 24, 2013 9:03 pm

Re: ST3 some Edit menu options are disabled, Toggle comment, etc

Postby bronson on Mon Feb 25, 2013 10:03 pm

Do you still need SublimeCodeIntel with ST3's Goto Definition and Goto Symbol features?

I guess you don't get the function call tooltips... Maybe it's worth extracting them into their own ST3 plugin?

Just curious since I like the idea of CodeIntel but I could never get it to work reliably, even under ST2.
bronson
 
Posts: 38
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2012 8:52 pm

Re: ST3 some Edit menu options are disabled, Toggle comment, etc

Postby bigmabig on Fri Mar 08, 2013 7:42 am

Well, I had an exact problem and tried the clean install. The toggle comments work as they should. But Once I turned my packages, plugins on, it stops working again. What should I do? I tried the shortcut apple+/ , it did not bind with any command. Why ST3 hang up on this command?
bigmabig
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Mar 08, 2013 7:20 am

Re: ST3 some Edit menu options are disabled, Toggle comment, etc

Postby klaasman on Fri Mar 08, 2013 10:01 am

I had the same problems and found a 'solution'.
For me it did the trick to remove the folder 'Default' in my packages folder (and restart ST). For some odd reason this folder (even empty!) causes the problems you mentioned, in my case though.

edit; I'm on windows, don't know if it will also work on apple machines
klaasman
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Mar 08, 2013 9:54 am

Re: ST3 some Edit menu options are disabled, Toggle comment, etc

Postby bigmabig on Mon Mar 11, 2013 8:48 pm

I deleted the folder 'Default' in Mac OS X 10.8, it still did not work. I deleted the SublimeCodeIntel Package, it still does not work. I am in Sublime Text 3 build 3012. Hopefully, sublime team could fix this bug soon. It is hard to work without Toggle Comment features.
bigmabig
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Mar 08, 2013 7:20 am

Re: ST3 some Edit menu options are disabled, Toggle comment, etc

Postby jps on Mon Mar 11, 2013 10:54 pm

bigmabig wrote:I deleted the folder 'Default' in Mac OS X 10.8, it still did not work. I deleted the SublimeCodeIntel Package, it still does not work. I am in Sublime Text 3 build 3012. Hopefully, sublime team could fix this bug soon. It is hard to work without Toggle Comment features.

The solution is posted above: http://www.sublimetext.com/docs/3/revert.html
jps
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3067
Joined: Wed Mar 19, 2008 12:33 pm

Next

Return to Technical Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 17 guests