Home Download Buy Blog Forum Support

Quick question about "New File" in window menu

Quick question about "New File" in window menu

Postby flem on Tue Apr 09, 2013 3:03 pm

I tried to minimize the window using alt-space, n and it didn't work. There are two items in the window control menu that use "n" because there is a strange New File item in there. Why is that there? Can I remove it?
flem
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Apr 09, 2013 3:01 pm

Re: Quick question about "New File" in window menu

Postby andyf on Thu Apr 11, 2013 7:51 pm

I've also started noticing this sometimes being on my Sublime Text too (Windows 7 x64). At first I thought it was the Advanced New File plugin, but the author says that's not possible as his plugin can't alter the window.

I've just loaded up a couple of projects and now it's no longer showing, but it's definitely been there earlier today and over the last week.

For reference, it looks like this:
Image


edit: I've just found a way of reproducing the issue.

By default Sublime Text 2 does not open with the item in the Window menu. However, with ST2 window in focus, if I click the taskbar icon to make the application minimize/hide, and then click it again to restore the window, 'New File' now appears on the window menu function list.
andyf
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Apr 11, 2013 7:50 pm

Re: Quick question about "New File" in window menu

Postby skuroda on Thu Apr 11, 2013 8:02 pm

Also occurs in ST3 (build 3026) - W7 x64.
skuroda
 
Posts: 676
Joined: Fri Oct 05, 2012 8:11 am

Re: Quick question about "New File" in window menu

Postby jps on Fri Apr 12, 2013 12:31 am

This is a known bug in Sublime Text, and while I've seen it myself, I've never had any luck in reliably reproducing it.
jps
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3062
Joined: Wed Mar 19, 2008 12:33 pm

Re: Quick question about "New File" in window menu

Postby schlamar on Fri Apr 12, 2013 6:18 am

andyf wrote:By default Sublime Text 2 does not open with the item in the Window menu. However, with ST2 window in focus, if I click the taskbar icon to make the application minimize/hide, and then click it again to restore the window, 'New File' now appears on the window menu function list.

Can confirm this with ST3 (Win7 x64). 100% reproducible in my case.
schlamar
 
Posts: 105
Joined: Tue Feb 19, 2013 2:11 pm

Re: Quick question about "New File" in window menu

Postby flem on Fri Apr 12, 2013 5:05 pm

Ok. Thanks for the replies. It is really weird that this is actually a bug and not intended.
flem
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Apr 09, 2013 3:01 pm

Re: Quick question about "New File" in window menu

Postby davea on Thu May 02, 2013 4:40 pm

Confirmed this still occurs with Dev Build 3031. Consistently reproducible. (Win7 x64, Win8 x64)

1. Open ST3
2. Click the ST3 icon on the taskbar to minimize the application window
3. Click the ST3 icon on the taskbar to restore the application window

'New File' now appears on the ST3 system menu (also called the window menu or control menu).
davea
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2012 9:12 pm

Re: Quick question about "New File" in window menu

Postby jps on Mon May 06, 2013 6:00 am

davea: Thank you for the repro, it'll be fixed in the next version.

This bug has been around since Sublime Text 1.0, released in 2008. I've seen it intermittently since then, but never reliably enough to reproduce it. I'm extremely glad to see it put to bed.
jps
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3062
Joined: Wed Mar 19, 2008 12:33 pm


Return to General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Exabot [Bot], Google [Bot], Yahoo [Bot] and 24 guests