Home Download Buy Blog Forum Support

Sublime text 2 search does not work

Sublime text 2 search does not work

Postby ftom2 on Mon Jun 03, 2013 10:56 am

I have ST2 installed on Win7x64 and for some reason the global 'Find in Files' (ctrl+shift+f) stopped working (it worked before). Now all i get is :

Searching 0 files for "capbSectionac"

0 matches across 0 files


The regular search in the currently opened file is working correctly.

I tried re-installing both the 32 and the 64 version it but to no avail :(

Anyone encountered it? Any solution?
ftom2
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Jun 03, 2013 10:55 am

Re: Sublime text 2 search does not work

Postby adzenith on Mon Jun 03, 2013 8:12 pm

What does your "Where:" field say? Obviously it's searching 0 files.
adzenith
 
Posts: 1216
Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2009 9:12 pm

Re: Sublime text 2 search does not work

Postby jarmod on Tue Jun 04, 2013 3:27 pm

Here's what I have found. I use two text editors simultaneously and usually this does not cause problems, but it seems to periodically in the find in files case.

I used my second text editor to global replace Log with AutoLog in a few *.py files, then saved the changes, then switched to ST2 which had an open view onto one of the changed py files, and ST2 *did* correctly show the AutoLog change (i.e. ST2 had detected the external edit and reloaded the py source). Then I did a search in files (ctrl+shift+F) for AutoLog in *.py and ST2 failed to find AutoLog. I repeated the find a couple of times and it failed each time. Then I made an unrelated edit using ST2 to one of the relevant py files and saved it, then repeated the find in files and only then did ST2 find AutoLog.

BTW in response to:

adzenith wrote:What does your "Where:" field say? Obviously it's searching 0 files.


When ST2 says "0 matches across 0 files", "0 files" is not referring to the number of files that ST2 searched in, it refers to the number of files that contain matches. So this is going to be zero if no matches were found.
jarmod
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Feb 21, 2013 2:26 pm

Re: Sublime text 2 search does not work

Postby adzenith on Tue Jun 04, 2013 6:17 pm

Right, but it also said:
Searching 0 files for "capbSectionac"

which is why I was curious :)
adzenith
 
Posts: 1216
Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2009 9:12 pm

Re: Sublime text 2 search does not work

Postby jarmod on Wed Jun 05, 2013 1:40 pm

You're right, good point.
jarmod
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Feb 21, 2013 2:26 pm

Re: Sublime text 2 search does not work

Postby jarmod on Thu Jun 06, 2013 12:43 am

I have been able to repro this problem a few times. Sublime is definitely searching some kind of cached version of source files, even while it is showing on-screen the latest, up to date copy of the source files. Makes 'find in files' really problematic because you can't rely on it.
jarmod
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Feb 21, 2013 2:26 pm

Re: Sublime text 2 search does not work

Postby unspooked on Mon Jun 10, 2013 9:52 am

I have this problem right now - exactly as described by the OP. (In a project)

I've tried Command-Shift-F, mouse commands, case sensitive on and off, whole word etc.

It just does nothing.
unspooked
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jun 10, 2013 9:46 am

Re: Sublime text 2 search does not work

Postby unspooked on Mon Jun 10, 2013 10:04 am

I just tried it again with "Use Buffer" active and it worked.
unspooked
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jun 10, 2013 9:46 am

Re: Sublime text 2 search does not work

Postby stevetong on Tue Jul 16, 2013 3:51 pm

In the second field "Where:", make sure you don't a folder selected. If it has the placeholder text "Open files and folders" it should search the whole project. Otherwise it will just search the folder selected which is most likely why it is coming up with 0 results in 0 files.

That was the case for me anyways.
stevetong
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Jul 16, 2013 3:48 pm

Re: Sublime text 2 search does not work

Postby Reedyseth on Mon Jun 30, 2014 9:48 pm

I am facing this problem.

Suddenly Sublime Text 2 Search in files stopped working.

The steps above doesn't work for me, I have to use Notepad++ to search in files and then return to ST2, this is very annoying. Do you have another suggestion.


Thanks in advance and best Regards.!!
Reedyseth
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Jun 30, 2014 9:46 pm


Return to Technical Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: JeriX and 22 guests