Home Download Buy Blog Forum Support

No toolbar available?

No toolbar available?

Postby dfrechette on Tue Oct 18, 2011 4:15 pm

Hi,

I'm new to Sublime, but an experienced user of many other code editors like Notepad++, Textpad, and many more. Something I miss with Sublime is an actual toolbar for common file operations, bookmark operations, UI preference toggles, etc. I don't see this in Sublime and can't find any reference on the Web about it. In short, where can I find a toolbar? Do I have to create my own? How can I create a toolbar?

Thanks,

-- Daniel
dfrechette
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Oct 18, 2011 4:02 pm

Re: No toolbar available?

Postby SeanWcom on Tue Oct 18, 2011 5:36 pm

The trick with ST2 is to learn the command palette... Ctrl-Shift-P (Win) will open it. From there you can start typing any of the menu commands (and hidden commands) that are available. I came from a background of heavy Notepad++ use as well and after using ST2 for awhile now, key binds and the command palette are where the magic is.

For example, when I want to start writing a new CSS file: Ctrl-N (duh), Ctrl-Shift-P, CSS, Enter. This runs the "Set Syntax: CSS" command. It sounds easier to click on a menu, or toolbar button, but once you get used to this its so much faster.

Also, if you haven't already, open up the key binds file and peruse through it - try to use as many as you can so you see what they do. It helped me a ton. :)

But to answer your question, I don't think there's a toolbar at all. I believe ST1 had one, but it appears to have been ditched along the way.
Multiple selections... one of my favorite ST2 features. View some noob-friendly screen casts here.
SeanWcom
 
Posts: 101
Joined: Wed Aug 03, 2011 1:31 am
Location: Georgia

Re: No toolbar available?

Postby dfrechette on Tue Oct 18, 2011 5:57 pm

Thank you for your reply SeanWcom.

I guess I'll have to memorize the key bindings like I did with VI and EMACS back in the days where I was heavily into UNIX.

Best regards,

Daniel
dfrechette
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Oct 18, 2011 4:02 pm

Re: No toolbar available?

Postby tito on Thu Oct 20, 2011 7:56 am

IDEA: I prefer no toolbar, if at some point a toolbar is added, please add it as a vertical toolbar! :idea:
Give APIs, let the community build the rest!
https://github.com/titoBouzout
tito
 
Posts: 881
Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2011 2:27 pm
Location: Montevideo, Uruguay

Re: No toolbar available?

Postby latency on Mon Nov 21, 2011 6:08 am

I don't see anything bad in having a toolbar at hand. If it's made optional those who want to use it could activate it in the options. I see the power in keyboard shortcuts etc etc, but I would love to have a customizable toolbar where I can add what I want and place it wherever I want it to be situated; vertical, horizontal and auto-adjusting to window size. I often use a combination of keyboard shortcuts and the toolbar.
latency
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2011 5:59 am

Re: No toolbar available?

Postby fatalentity on Fri Nov 25, 2011 8:44 am

Sublime text 2 DOES have a toolbar!

Just press the ALT key on your keyboard and it will pop up =)
fatalentity
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2011 10:03 am

Re: No toolbar available?

Postby jbrooksuk on Fri Nov 25, 2011 10:00 am

fatalentity wrote:Sublime text 2 DOES have a toolbar!

Just press the ALT key on your keyboard and it will pop up =)

By definition that is not a toolbar. It's a menu control.
jbrooksuk
 
Posts: 782
Joined: Sun Apr 11, 2010 10:37 am
Location: England

Re: No toolbar available?

Postby bmatthewshea on Mon Jun 10, 2013 4:18 pm

latency wrote:I don't see anything bad in having a toolbar at hand. If it's made optional those who want to use it could activate it in the options. I see the power in keyboard shortcuts etc etc, but I would love to have a customizable toolbar where I can add what I want and place it wherever I want it to be situated; vertical, horizontal and auto-adjusting to window size. I often use a combination of keyboard shortcuts and the toolbar.


I know this thread is a bit old but didn't see any recent discussions.. ^ Ditto and I agree with above quote.
Is there a good reason why a toolbar isn't allowed to be turned on/off from View menu anymore (ST2)?
If you want it off, just allow it to be turned off in View ala ST1. Or even default it that way if it is so bothersome to some ppl..
I like being able to single click to Save File and Undo/Redo in particular. imo you can't beat a single mouse click for any keyboard mapping.
Is this available in ST3?
bmatthewshea
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2011 4:47 pm

Re: No toolbar available?

Postby schlamar on Tue Jun 11, 2013 6:39 am

bmatthewshea wrote: imo you can't beat a single mouse click for any keyboard mapping.

What?! This is an editor, so you have your hands constantly on the keyboard. And you want to tell me that moving your hand away from keyboard to mouse and targeting a small icon is actually faster than hitting Ctrl+S? I doubt it. There is a reason for vim still being popular these days. Nothing beats keyboard handling in efficiency and productivity.

I like Sublime without toolbar because it encourages you to learn keyboard shortcuts, which makes you much more productive in the end!

bmatthewshea wrote:Is this available in ST3?

Nope.
schlamar
 
Posts: 107
Joined: Tue Feb 19, 2013 2:11 pm

Re: No toolbar available?

Postby bmatthewshea on Tue Jun 11, 2013 4:46 pm

schlamar wrote:
bmatthewshea wrote: imo you can't beat a single mouse click for any keyboard mapping.

What?! This is an editor, so you have your hands constantly on the keyboard. And you want to tell me that moving your hand away from keyboard to mouse and targeting a small icon is actually faster than hitting Ctrl+S? I doubt it. There is a reason for vim still being popular these days. Nothing beats keyboard handling in efficiency and productivity.

I like Sublime without toolbar because it encourages you to learn keyboard shortcuts, which makes you much more productive in the end!


That's your opinion and I respect it., but I have my reasons just like you have yours.
-
But that wasn't my point:
I use keyboard shortcuts, too. But, I also happen to use toolbar frequently (click for new file/etc) during the course of my 12 hour days...
Still don't know why the option was removed from View menu.
As I said (and I will repeat): keep it defaulted 'unchecked' under View menu, then. Is that so painful??
-
As aside- I also love how I have to use SHIFT-ALT-W to wrap a html tag now. Just don't use CTRL in that combo by accident.
(You use to be able to ' "tag" + tab ' to wrap most any tag. Not any more .. because it is 'improved'. Shift+Alt+W gives you a <p>. Joy.)
Guess I will just stick with ST1 - don't see a good reason to 'improve' it right now.
bmatthewshea
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2011 4:47 pm


Return to General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 19 guests