Home Download Buy Blog Forum Support

Making Windows Sublime Look Like Mac

Making Windows Sublime Look Like Mac

Postby ttctoonfreak4eva on Wed Jun 19, 2013 3:18 pm

I've seen similar threads like this around the internet,
but not one using the words I would use to ask the question:

Is there any way to make my windows version of sublime text 2 have the same font style as mac.
The mac version (like on the front page of sublimetext.com) has a much nicer and full "bold-like"
text. Windows sublime text tends to look much more narrow and thin. From what I've read it appears
that this has a lot to do with different font rendering between mac and windows -- but is there anyway
to get the same appearance on windows?

I've tried fonts like Meslo that are supposed to mimic mac, but I still don't get the heavier font-weight I'm looking for.
Thanks for the help!
ttctoonfreak4eva
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jun 19, 2013 3:14 pm

Re: Making Windows Sublime Look Like Mac

Postby riddler12 on Wed Jun 19, 2013 3:37 pm

Hello,

I think this is what you are looking for. Add the following to your preferences file.

Code: Select all
"font_options": ["gray_antialias"]


It's interesting because adding this line on Mac seems to disable the "bold-like" font (where it is enabled by default) and adding this line on Windows seems to enable the "bold-like" font (where it is disabled by default).
riddler12
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Jun 09, 2013 1:42 pm

Re: Making Windows Sublime Look Like Mac

Postby ttctoonfreak4eva on Wed Jun 19, 2013 3:39 pm

Wow! That was exactly what I was looking for.
Thank you so much for the quick reply!
ttctoonfreak4eva
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jun 19, 2013 3:14 pm

Re: Making Windows Sublime Look Like Mac

Postby dungpt on Wed Jun 19, 2013 3:52 pm

ttctoonfreak4eva wrote:Wow! That was exactly what I was looking for.
Thank you so much for the quick reply!


can you post a screenshot of result ? Because when I tried as riddler12 suggested, the result is ugly :(

Image
dungpt
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2012 9:11 am

Re: Making Windows Sublime Look Like Mac

Postby ttctoonfreak4eva on Wed Jun 19, 2013 4:27 pm

Yeah, mine looks the same at font size 11, I switched to 13 -- my preferred.

Unfortunately it looks a bit choppy.

Image

EDIT: Fixed the problem by doing something most people might not be comfortable with -- I installed GDIpp which
replaces windows default font rendering. To be honest, this makes my whole machine look better!
Settings: (Consolas, size 13, bold)

Image
ttctoonfreak4eva
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jun 19, 2013 3:14 pm

Re: Making Windows Sublime Look Like Mac

Postby rob49152 on Wed Jun 19, 2013 8:32 pm

I've used MacType Tray for the past several months. Like GDIpp it replaces the windows font renderer and text looks so much more readable. Sublime looks amazing with it!

The only problem was that the instructions and everything were in chinese. But I think I'll try GDIpp.
rob49152
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Jun 15, 2013 10:02 pm

Re: Making Windows Sublime Look Like Mac

Postby fooziex on Thu Jun 20, 2013 11:23 pm

MacType is a fork of GDIpp. It seems to be fairly better, but it's closed source (I've emailed the project maintainer about obtaining the source). The Chinese installer (etc.) bug is something I've encountered as well, but once you get it installed it should be pretty smooth sailing. I'm actually fine with the font rendering in Sublime Text with the setting "font_options":["directwrite"] set, though. I much prefer to use the Terminus and Anonymous Pro fonts to Menlo and Consolas, however.
fooziex
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2012 8:22 pm

Re: Making Windows Sublime Look Like Mac

Postby azmod on Fri Jun 21, 2013 3:02 pm

If you use an high dpi screen (like a laptop with a fullhd display) also DirectWrite is ugly, MacType has support for more languages but sometimes it chooses as default chinese and not english and you have to switch it by yourself. I'm using it from months and some times ago I submitted a translation for my language (not yet published by the author since not yet released an update in this period). Anyway, after you configure it, you can select Registry mode to load and forget about it. I agree that the project seems closed-source since no source-code can be found.
azmod
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Mar 17, 2013 4:58 pm


Return to General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], sapphirehamster, Yahoo [Bot] and 27 guests