Home Download Buy Blog Forum Support

Clipboard error

Clipboard error

Postby Admire on Tue Jul 09, 2013 1:55 pm

Hopefully anyone can help me out on this one, since I'm not sure it's a bug.

If I copy a selection of code in my clipboard, then I delete some lines elsewhere in the code, now my clipboard is empty!
This happens in all versions of Sublime Text.

Copy and directly pasting works fine, but doing anything in between seems to empty the clipboard.

Thanks for any help in advance!
Admire
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jul 09, 2013 1:51 pm

Re: Clipboard error

Postby adzenith on Tue Jul 09, 2013 3:27 pm

Do you have any other apps running? Any packages?
adzenith
 
Posts: 1213
Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2009 9:12 pm

Re: Clipboard error

Postby Admire on Tue Jul 23, 2013 2:22 pm

No, this happens on a clean install.
Admire
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jul 09, 2013 1:51 pm

Re: Clipboard error

Postby adzenith on Tue Jul 23, 2013 6:02 pm

What about other apps, that, say, empty your clipboard?
adzenith
 
Posts: 1213
Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2009 9:12 pm

Re: Clipboard error

Postby Admire on Thu Jul 25, 2013 2:57 pm

Just found out that it doesn't really empty the clipboard, it's more like a dynamic clipboard.
The reference to the line is copied, not the content of the line literally.
It might not even be a bug, but I find it pretty much annoying.
Admire
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jul 09, 2013 1:51 pm

Re: Clipboard error

Postby adzenith on Thu Jul 25, 2013 3:56 pm

Admire wrote:The reference to the line is copied, not the content of the line literally.

Do you mean that if you change the line the clipboard contents change? This is definitely not default behaviour. Can you please give some repro steps?
adzenith
 
Posts: 1213
Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2009 9:12 pm

Re: Clipboard error

Postby Admire on Fri Jul 26, 2013 1:14 pm

Steps for reproduction:

Example CSS
Code: Select all
.datepicker > div {
  display: none;
}


Cut these lines (ctrl+x), then remove the remaining empty line (shift-delete). Now paste your clipboard and find out it is empty.
Admire
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jul 09, 2013 1:51 pm

Re: Clipboard error

Postby adzenith on Fri Jul 26, 2013 6:14 pm

Cannot repro - works fine for me. Clipboard holds exactly what it should. Have you tried on another computer?
adzenith
 
Posts: 1213
Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2009 9:12 pm

Re: Clipboard error

Postby Dar on Mon Aug 05, 2013 11:44 am

Same problem here.
When I copy a line, delete it (+ a few other lines) and then try to paste it the clipboard is empty.
Dar
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Aug 05, 2013 11:43 am

Re: Clipboard error

Postby Admire on Wed Aug 14, 2013 12:14 pm

Seems like Windows only.... (help!)
Admire
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jul 09, 2013 1:51 pm

Next

Return to Technical Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 21 guests