Home Download Buy Blog Forum Support

SideBar not refreshing

Re: SideBar not refreshing

Postby jps on Fri Nov 11, 2011 4:44 am

Sublime Text uses Apple's FSEvents API for file system monitoring. Outside of symlinks, I don't know what scenarios can cause it to stop reporting events.
jps
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3067
Joined: Wed Mar 19, 2008 12:33 pm

Re: SideBar not refreshing

Postby peppy on Fri Nov 11, 2011 5:57 am

Okay, I've done some further testing specifically on my saved sublime-projects. It would seem if I create the project from scratch (same destination directory, no symlinks involved in either case) it starts working correctly. Loading from the .sublime-project file refuses to pick up on changes. I'll take a further look and see if I come up with anything, but maybe this gives you a lead as to what could be happening here?

This doesn't explain configuration changes not being picked up either, but that could be a symlink issue (even though it used to work fine?).

Update: I have my old projects set to use the path of "./", so it works in both Windows and OS X. This seems to be causing the issue for me. Changing this to "." fixes the issue (and works on windows as well).

Update2: Seems the trailing slash is the problem. Same happens with my other projects that use a non-pwd relative path as well. I would say it's probably a good move to trim this slash at an application level to avoid this.
peppy
 
Posts: 52
Joined: Thu Aug 04, 2011 4:52 pm
Location: perth, australia

Re: SideBar not refreshing

Postby jps on Sat Nov 12, 2011 2:50 am

Thanks for the information peppy, I'll take a look at it
jps
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3067
Joined: Wed Mar 19, 2008 12:33 pm

Re: SideBar not refreshing

Postby misterparker on Wed Nov 16, 2011 7:58 am

I started a new project and noticed it was failing to refresh, but still refreshes on some of my other projects. I tried creating new folders moving everything. It puzzles me. I even went into a project that was refreshing fine, and added the folder that was not refreshing. And the one still wont refresh while the older one does - in the same sidebar - here is the screencast of it:
http://cl.ly/BrZW

This is killing me
misterparker
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2011 7:56 am

Re: SideBar not refreshing

Postby peppy on Thu Nov 17, 2011 5:29 am

Are you 100% sure that no symlinks are involved in the path to public_html in that example? I can still replicate this behaviour when the path is inside a symlink'd folder.
peppy
 
Posts: 52
Joined: Thu Aug 04, 2011 4:52 pm
Location: perth, australia

Re: SideBar not refreshing

Postby jakobud on Sun Dec 11, 2011 6:06 am

This is happening on my Windows 7 x64 workstation as well. Sublime build 2139. I have to close ST and repoen it in order for the sidebar folders/files to refresh. It only does it sometimes though. For example, I just used a web framework to generate some code and directories and they aren't showing up in the sidebar. But if I open up Explorer and go and manually create a directory in the same spot, it shows up correctly along with the auto-generated directory. Not sure how to reproduce this problem...
jakobud
 
Posts: 37
Joined: Wed Feb 17, 2010 6:05 pm

Re: SideBar not refreshing

Postby bobb.delsol on Tue Jul 09, 2013 5:59 pm

Got a solution from User echo. worked -- i'm so happy. thanks Sublime Text→Andy Jarrell

I can't find forum link to where I saw the suggested change, but there is a non-documented option to put in your user settings file. It is:



"ignore_inodes": true



I had to use it when connected to SAMBA/CIFS shares to resolve the issue. I wasn't seeing the issue for local files, just the network mounted folders. This setting still seems to work in Sublime Text 3 as when I remove it the issue comes back for those network mounted folders, but when I keep it in my user settings it works correctly. I do think it affected Sublime's ability to detect changes on the local file system (that's just anecdotal.) I didn't go to the effort to figure out how to add the setting to a sublime project file so it can be applied per project (if there is a way?).



Not sure if that is remotely helpful.
bobb.delsol
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jul 09, 2013 4:02 pm

Re: SideBar not refreshing

Postby davicorn on Sat May 24, 2014 7:24 am

Alright folks, sorry for the necro post but since there is no information on the internet in how to resolve this problem, I feel this information might not be that wrong here.

I ran into this problem multiple times. First on my old macbook, now on my new retina one.
The "ignore_inodes": true settings didn't do anything for me. Why should sublime text want to ignore inodes anyway? The whole system is using inodes.
I am not using any projects. I tried adding a few files to a project and played with the project settings, but no luck.
I am not syncing my stuff with dropbox, I have everything locally.
Not a single symlinks / hardlink across all my projects

Here is what I did to resolve this issue, in the following order. I am still unsure which one finally resolved it though:
- Disabled dropbox and restarted my computer. I read that dropbox adds a ton of FSEvents which could interfere with other systems using FSEvent as well.
- Let disk utility repair my disk
- Let disk utility fix all disk permissions
- Killed my spotlight index with
sudo mdutil -E /
sudo mdutil -i on /
- Restarted again

Spotlight is still busy reindexing my entire disk, but folders are refreshing again and ST3 applies config changes right away without the need to restart the editor.
Running Mac OS X 10.9.2 and ST3 build 3062

If any of these steps resolved it for you, please share your feedback
davicorn
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu May 22, 2014 8:07 am

Re: SideBar not refreshing

Postby stayyef on Thu Jul 31, 2014 9:10 pm

Hey Guys, to those who are still suffering with this, I accidentally found the solution..

I had resigned myself to manually refreshing ST's sidebar on my mac every time I made changes for the last couple of years, after having searched and giving up on finding a solution.. But yesterday, when I upgraded my Mac's Ram (from 4GB to 12GB), the problem just went away! It solved it for me, maybe it will solve it for you?
stayyef
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2014 9:06 pm

Previous

Return to Technical Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Exabot [Bot] and 17 guests