Home Download Buy Blog Forum Support

How can I unselect first occurrence of multi line selection

How can I unselect first occurrence of multi line selection

Postby ol_ol_3388 on Mon Jul 29, 2013 8:46 pm

I have a simple list of 4 lines. I need to select line 2 and 3.

abc
abc
abc
abc

I put my cursor on second line and do the following:

[super+d] - selects line 2
[super+d] - selects line 3
[super+d], [super+k, super+d] - skips line 4

At this point search wrapped to the first line and made it selected. How can I unselect it ??? [super+k, super+d] messes selection up.
ol_ol_3388
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 3:29 pm

Re: How can I unselect first occurrence of multi line selection

Postby iamntz on Tue Jul 30, 2013 4:36 am

Not sure if it is possible just with keyboard, but you could just alt+click&drag on the text.
Something like this: http://img.iamntz.com/jing/video_2013-0 ... h55_47.mp4
iamntz
 
Posts: 915
Joined: Fri Apr 29, 2011 8:52 am
Location: Romania

Re: How can I unselect first occurrence of multi line selection

Postby skuroda on Tue Jul 30, 2013 4:51 am

You could write a plugin to do it, but does "super+u" do what you want?
skuroda
 
Posts: 685
Joined: Fri Oct 05, 2012 8:11 am

Re: How can I unselect first occurrence of multi line selection

Postby ol_ol_3388 on Tue Jul 30, 2013 3:32 pm

No, "super+u" will undo "super+k", "super+d" which will leave line 4 selected, which I do not want.
ol_ol_3388
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 3:29 pm

Re: How can I unselect first occurrence of multi line selection

Postby ol_ol_3388 on Tue Jul 30, 2013 3:35 pm

iamntz wrote:Not sure if it is possible just with keyboard, but you could just alt+click&drag on the text.
Something like this: http://img.iamntz.com/jing/video_2013-0 ... h55_47.mp4


When I click with alt it unselects previously selected lines.
ol_ol_3388
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 3:29 pm

Re: How can I unselect first occurrence of multi line selection

Postby adzenith on Tue Jul 30, 2013 3:36 pm

ol_ol_3388 wrote:No, "super+u" will undo "super+k", "super+d" which will leave line 4 selected, which I do not want.

Press "super+u" again.
adzenith
 
Posts: 1217
Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2009 9:12 pm

Re: How can I unselect first occurrence of multi line selection

Postby ol_ol_3388 on Tue Jul 30, 2013 3:41 pm

Sure, but this was just a model of real work scenario, where u have a huge source file and those selections are not located one after another. The question is: is it possible to unselect the very first selection, which happens AUTOMATICALLY when Sublime Text wraps super+d command.
ol_ol_3388
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 3:29 pm

Re: How can I unselect first occurrence of multi line selection

Postby ol_ol_3388 on Tue Jul 30, 2013 3:43 pm

Also, why super+k, super+d is not working on this first line ???
ol_ol_3388
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 3:29 pm

Re: How can I unselect first occurrence of multi line selection

Postby adzenith on Tue Jul 30, 2013 3:55 pm

Pressing super+u twice will remove the wrapped selection every time, even in real work scenarios.
The problem is that the cmd+k, cmd+d command is slightly broken. I seem to remember seeing a fixed version floating around on the forums, and I tried to find it, but I must be searching for the wrong terms or something.
adzenith
 
Posts: 1217
Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2009 9:12 pm

Re: How can I unselect first occurrence of multi line selection

Postby ol_ol_3388 on Tue Jul 30, 2013 4:01 pm

It will only work in real life if you started your multiselect from beginning of your file. If not, how can you continue after wrap without selecting the first one ?
It would be REAL great if you will find a FIXED version of super+k, super+d !!!!
ol_ol_3388
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 3:29 pm

Next

Return to General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Ivan171 and 28 guests