Home Download Buy Blog Forum Support

Package Control 2.0

Re: Package Control 2.0

Postby Stubblechunks on Wed Aug 14, 2013 2:25 pm

That's totally weird. I was using Alpha 6, and it upgraded just fine.

-- I take it back. I thought it upgraded, but in fact it failed silently. My apologies for the bum steer.
Stubblechunks
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Apr 24, 2013 8:35 pm

Re: Package Control 2.0

Postby sebabal on Wed Aug 14, 2013 2:33 pm

Awesome work. Thanks for taking the time to do this project. Just made a small donation.

Keep it up.
sebabal
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2013 12:34 pm

Re: Package Control 2.0

Postby Stubblechunks on Wed Aug 14, 2013 2:37 pm

Even after I DID successfully upgrade to 2.0, I was seeing Alpha 6 when I listed packages until I went in and manually removed the old Package Control folder that was installed under Packages/. The new one had installed successfully at Installed Packages/, but was being ignored.
Stubblechunks
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Apr 24, 2013 8:35 pm

Re: Package Control 2.0

Postby Astrophizz on Wed Aug 14, 2013 5:20 pm

Stubblechunks wrote:Even after I DID successfully upgrade to 2.0, I was seeing Alpha 6 when I listed packages until I went in and manually removed the old Package Control folder that was installed under Packages/. The new one had installed successfully at Installed Packages/, but was being ignored.

That worked, thanks! It seems like it's also good to go through and clear up Packages/ for packages installed through Package Control since those are in Installed Packages/ now and can show up twice in Preferences - Package Settings.
Astrophizz
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Aug 12, 2013 7:25 pm

Re: Package Control 2.0

Postby jbrooksuk on Thu Aug 15, 2013 9:18 am

After messing around with Package Control for about half an hour I was able to get it installed and updated.

I had to keep deleting the .sublime-package file in Installed Packages. It kept being restored, so that was weird.

Now it's installed I've noticed a few packages are missing. What makes a package not show?
jbrooksuk
 
Posts: 763
Joined: Sun Apr 11, 2010 10:37 am
Location: England

Re: Package Control 2.0

Postby wbond on Thu Aug 15, 2013 9:26 pm

Yes, unfortunately the git upgrader withe 2.0.0-alpha6 was broken, so it won't update itself properly. You'll need to delete the Packages/Package Control/ folder and then follow the instructions on https://sublime.wbond.net/installation to get it to go through properly. I guess it lived up to its name of being an alpha. :-)

In the new version of Package Control, only packages that are listed as compatible with your version of Sublime Text will show. Thus there are quite a number of ST2 only packages that won't show up in ST3. There are also a few ST3-only packages. https://sublime.wbond.net/stats has the details.
wbond
 
Posts: 527
Joined: Mon Feb 28, 2011 5:33 am

Re: Package Control 2.0

Postby jbrooksuk on Fri Aug 16, 2013 8:40 am

wbond wrote:In the new version of Package Control, only packages that are listed as compatible with your version of Sublime Text will show. Thus there are quite a number of ST2 only packages that won't show up in ST3. There are also a few ST3-only packages. https://sublime.wbond.net/stats has the details.

How's it working out compatability? Is it looking for certain text in a README?
jbrooksuk
 
Posts: 763
Joined: Sun Apr 11, 2010 10:37 am
Location: England

Re: Package Control 2.0

Postby wbond on Fri Aug 16, 2013 2:12 pm

No, you have to set the sublime_text value in the releases key of the repository JSON.
wbond
 
Posts: 527
Joined: Mon Feb 28, 2011 5:33 am

Re: Package Control 2.0

Postby Stubblechunks on Fri Aug 16, 2013 4:04 pm

So Package Control is taking a 'hands off' approach to any packages that I installed with the alpha version that are not currently listed as ST3 compatible? (I mean, it won't do anything to disable them, and won't list any updates until the package maintainer updates it to reflect that it's ST3 compatible...)

Thanks, Mr. Bond. Package Control is good. It's a little like putting a nitrous boost on a Ferrari.
Stubblechunks
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Apr 24, 2013 8:35 pm

Re: Package Control 2.0

Postby wbond on Fri Aug 16, 2013 4:13 pm

Yeah, I suppose it is. I didn't spend too much time figuring out a transition plan for alpha -> stable, I guess partially since I listed it as alpha.

However, if you have found certain packages work in ST3 that are not marked as such, please do everyone a favor and update the channel on the author's behalf.
wbond
 
Posts: 527
Joined: Mon Feb 28, 2011 5:33 am

PreviousNext

Return to General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], stikker, tux. and 25 guests