Home Download Buy Blog Forum Support

Actual Vim

Actual Vim

Postby lunixbochs on Fri Oct 18, 2013 2:00 pm

This plugin provides vim-like input to a Sublime Text buffer via a hidden vim instance.

It's really an early beta right now, but the underlying concept works great and implemented features thus far work reasonably well. I'm mostly posting this to gauge interest/thoughts.

https://github.com/lunixbochs/actualvim

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=18OL76R5sNY&hd=1
lunixbochs
 
Posts: 91
Joined: Fri Oct 08, 2010 10:18 pm

Re: Actual Vim

Postby trishume on Wed Oct 30, 2013 8:43 pm

I love this idea, this has serious potential. Keep up with the awesome plugins!
trishume
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2012 3:59 pm

Re: Actual Vim

Postby lunixbochs on Mon Nov 04, 2013 7:06 am

It's in a somewhat usable state now.
lunixbochs
 
Posts: 91
Joined: Fri Oct 08, 2010 10:18 pm

Re: Actual Vim

Postby biannetta on Wed Nov 06, 2013 5:47 am

How do I set this up in Sublime? I cloned the repo into my Sublime/Packages/ but none of the commands seems to work
biannetta
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Nov 06, 2013 5:46 am

Re: Actual Vim

Postby lunixbochs on Wed Nov 06, 2013 6:02 am

You on Sublime Text 3? Does the "Monitor TTY" command show up in your command panel? Any console output?
lunixbochs
 
Posts: 91
Joined: Fri Oct 08, 2010 10:18 pm

Re: Actual Vim

Postby biannetta on Wed Nov 06, 2013 3:15 pm

There is no Monitor TTY in the Command Palette. This is what I get from the console http://hastebin.com/yotakiconu.hs
biannetta
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Nov 06, 2013 5:46 am

Re: Actual Vim

Postby lunixbochs on Thu Nov 07, 2013 2:24 am

Try again with the latest HEAD. See if the console spits anything out when you open a new view as well.
lunixbochs
 
Posts: 91
Joined: Fri Oct 08, 2010 10:18 pm

Re: Actual Vim

Postby biannetta on Thu Nov 07, 2013 3:10 pm

Pulling in the latest code seemed to do the trick. I have all the functionality of Vim in sublime now! Thanks for your help.
biannetta
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Nov 06, 2013 5:46 am

Re: Actual Vim

Postby highend on Thu Nov 07, 2013 10:21 pm

If this get's ever usable under MS Windows I'll be the first who installs it^^ :)
highend
 
Posts: 94
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2012 2:47 pm

Re: Actual Vim

Postby lunixbochs on Fri Nov 08, 2013 6:58 am

It might be usable with cygwin vim. I'd need to support a slightly dumber tty.
lunixbochs
 
Posts: 91
Joined: Fri Oct 08, 2010 10:18 pm

Next

Return to Plugin Announcements

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 6 guests