Home Download Buy Blog Forum Support

git commit on a windows box?

git commit on a windows box?

Postby storyloops on Wed Feb 09, 2011 5:38 pm

I saw the post about using Sublime for git commit messages on a Mac. Does anyone know how to set this up for a Windows box - Vista? (using latest service pack). A step-by-step would be very helpful at this point.

I'm a bit new to Git, but am familiar with Tortoise. Definitely new to Sublime, but like it very much so far. Thanks.
storyloops
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2011 5:30 pm

Re: git commit on a windows box?

Postby jbrooksuk on Wed Feb 09, 2011 9:29 pm

I find git complicated but useful :) I'd like to get a working commit build package or something.
jbrooksuk
 
Posts: 765
Joined: Sun Apr 11, 2010 10:37 am
Location: England

Re: git commit on a windows box?

Postby storyloops on Sun Feb 13, 2011 4:48 pm

No takers on this question? Any Sublime developers have the solution? If you know how to do this, I would appreciate it very much. Thanks.
storyloops
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2011 5:30 pm

Re: git commit on a windows box?

Postby adzenith on Sun Feb 13, 2011 6:06 pm

I don't know if the -w command works as a command-line parameter for sublime_text.exe, but if it does you should be able to set up git to use Sublime Text pretty easily by setting your core.editor to "sublime_text.exe -w", assuming that sublime_text.exe is in your PATH.
adzenith
 
Posts: 1214
Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2009 9:12 pm

Re: git commit on a windows box?

Postby storyloops on Sun Feb 13, 2011 11:25 pm

Thanks. I'll give it a try and let all know if it works.
storyloops
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2011 5:30 pm

Re: git commit on a windows box?

Postby jps on Tue Feb 15, 2011 3:50 am

-w isn't supported on Windows yet, but it will be supported on Linux in the next version, FWIW.
jps
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3067
Joined: Wed Mar 19, 2008 12:33 pm


Return to Technical Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Exabot [Bot], Google [Bot], observingly and 25 guests