Home Download Buy Blog Forum Support

Selection is not the search string (Mac)

Selection is not the search string (Mac)

Postby ms4py on Thu Apr 28, 2011 8:18 pm

When I select a string in the editor a hit Command+F the "Find what" is empty. (Mac)

When I do this in Windows with Ctrl+F the selected text is automatically my search string.

I prefer a consistent functionality across the platforms and of course the latter version.
ms4py
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Apr 27, 2011 11:25 am

Re: Selection is not the search string (Mac)

Postby panamajack on Sat Apr 30, 2011 8:13 pm

agreed.. still doesn't work in the latest version (2056) on the Mac

hope this makes it into the next release
panamajack
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2011 3:38 am

Re: Selection is not the search string (Mac)

Postby jps on Sat Apr 30, 2011 11:38 pm

This is controlled via the find_selected_text setting
jps
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3062
Joined: Wed Mar 19, 2008 12:33 pm

Re: Selection is not the search string (Mac)

Postby panamajack on Sun May 01, 2011 1:06 am

this is in the default file preferences file at the bottom

// If true, the selected text will be copied into the find panel when it's
// shown.
"find_selected_text": true
panamajack
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2011 3:38 am

Re: Selection is not the search string (Mac)

Postby jps on Sun May 01, 2011 2:20 am

It's overridden by an OS X specific value in the file "Packages/Default/Base File (OSX).sublime-settings". If you set it to true in "Preferences/User File Preferences", then that'll take precedence.

It's a similar situation with the "scroll_past_end" setting, which you may also want to force to true in your user settings, to make things more consistent.
jps
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3062
Joined: Wed Mar 19, 2008 12:33 pm

Re: Selection is not the search string (Mac)

Postby panamajack on Sun May 01, 2011 2:42 pm

Nice.. it works :)

Thank you
panamajack
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2011 3:38 am

Re: Selection is not the search string (Mac)

Postby ms4py on Mon May 02, 2011 2:34 pm

Ok, this works. An overview about the active config would be nice to find cases like this.
ms4py
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Apr 27, 2011 11:25 am


Return to Technical Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 20 guests