Sublime Forum

(ST3) ColorHelper

After seeing the neat stuff @huot25 and @jbrooksuk are working on with there color tooltips, I started playing around with color tooltips just for grins.

The idea is that when you select a color (hex, rgb, or rgba) it will show a preview with some color info. You transform the colors to formats, bookmark colors, save and load colors to and from color palettes that can be stored either global or per project. ColorHelper will even scan your current file and show you a palette with all the colors found in that file.

If your cursor is left after the # symbol in your css, and there is no valid hex color after it, it will display the palette tooltip instead of the color info (like when you are typing a new color). The same occurs for rgb( and rgba(. This allows you to pick a color from one of your palettes.

Repo is here: https://github.com/facelessuser/ColorHelper.

0 Likes

Hex color preview

Please make it available :smile:

It really looks pretty damn awesome!

0 Likes

[quote=“iamntz”]Please make it available

It really looks pretty damn awesome![/quote]

Thanks :smile:. I have a number of things I’d like to do with this if I keep rolling with it. Maybe handle common web color names and, optionally, when inserting colors, use the common names if it aligns with the color. I want to improve rgb/rgba handling but it is usable as is. Maybe make a clickable button from the color info panel to initiate adding the current color to a palette, or maybe just star them to be sorted manually later. Probably per project palettes would be good too. I don’t know, we’ll have to see. I think I will end up posting it for people to play with; the code’s a bit sloppy right now, but it works pretty good. If I get enough positive responses, maybe I will officially release it. Either way, I thought the concept was neat. I kind of like the big preview of the color, and it also supports showing transparency with rgba as well with the checkered background.