Home Download Buy Blog Forum Support

RegReplace Plugin

Re: RegReplace Plugin

Postby BUGMENOT! on Wed Apr 09, 2014 8:32 pm

Oh I see, will be usefull for a case I have! thanks, keep the good work!
BUGMENOT!
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Thu Sep 19, 2013 1:54 pm

Re: RegReplace Plugin

Postby facelessuser on Wed Apr 30, 2014 5:51 pm

ST3 only (currently).

RegReplace now allows you to do procedural evaluations on found text via plugins.

Code: Select all
        // Some defintion
        "some_definition": {
            "find": "some regex here",
            "replace": "some optional replace here",
            "greedy": true,
            "case": true,
            "plugin": "User.rr_modules.force_all_caps",
            "args": {"some_plugin_rguments": "if_desired"}
        },


A plugin with path "User/rr_modules/force_all_caps.py" would be specified in your defintion as "User.rr_modules.force_all_caps".

Built-in RegReplace modules are simply referenced as "rr_modules.my_module" etc. (though there aren't any provided at this time).

Plugins are very simple:

Code: Select all
def run(text, **optional_keyword_arguments):
    # Do some stuff to text
    return text


That is it.

You can import RegReplace plugins into other RegReplace plugins if desired by.

Code: Select all
from RegReplace.rr_plugin import Plugin

def run(text, **optional_keyword_arguments):
    module = Plugin.load("User.rr_modules.myplugin")
    text = module.run(text)
    return text


If I were creating a User module, I personally would include from a sub-folder in User that does not provide a "__init__.py". This just basically means sublime won't automatically import the plugin file.

I guess you could consider this feature in beta. So, real world feedback may cause some aspects to change in the future, but maybe not.
facelessuser
 
Posts: 1733
Joined: Tue Apr 05, 2011 7:38 pm

Re: RegReplace Plugin

Postby facelessuser on Fri Jun 06, 2014 2:43 pm

Got some big changes.

Extended Backreferences (Replace Only)

People occasionally complain that RegReplace can't use title case back references:

        "test_case": {
"find": "([a-z])(?P<somegroup>[a-z]*)((?:_[a-z]+)+)",
"replace": "\\u\\1\\L\\g<somegroup>\\E\\U\\g<3>\\E",
"greedy": true
}


Well this is because the regex engine that RegReplace uses is not Sublime's built in regex engine, but instead uses Python. I won't go into reasons why, but suffice it to say, I have reasons. Now Python doesn't support title case backreferences in its regex engine. So I have been thinking about this recently and added some extended back references to handle this.

Now hold up, it isn't exactly the same! Python strings already use \u, so \u wasn't an option. So it is a sightly altered notation:

        "test_case": {
"find": "([a-z])(?P<somegroup>[a-z]*)((?:_[a-z]+)+)",
"replace": "\\c\\1\\L\\g<somegroup>\\E\\C\\g<3>\\E",
"greedy": true
},


See the difference? You have to use \c and \C instead of \u and \U. Now this is disabled by default and only works for the replace string (I'm not re-writing the regex parser for matches), so you have to enable it in your settings file by using:

    // Use extended backreferences
"extended_back_references": true


There might be more in the future.


Updated Plugin System (More Useful)
Also, I recently realized the plugin system was not that good in its current state. So I simplified it.

You still define a plugin the same way (plugins are referenced like importing a python module with Packages as your root) User.rr_modules.<plugin>:
        "some_definition": {
"find": "some regex here",
"replace": "some optional replace here",
"greedy": true,
"case": true,
"plugin": "User.rr_modules.useful_stuff",
"args": {"some_plugin_rguments": "if_desired"}
},



And I have provided a simple example on the repo you can try out. Now you just define a function called replace and it accepts a match object and optional arguments (I show them in the example just to remind you you can use them):
def replace(m, **kwargs):
text = "Here are your groups: "
for group in m.groups():
if group is not None:
text += "(%s)" % group
return text
facelessuser
 
Posts: 1733
Joined: Tue Apr 05, 2011 7:38 pm

Re: RegReplace Plugin

Postby facelessuser on Wed Jul 30, 2014 12:29 am

Edit: Posted in wrong thread.
facelessuser
 
Posts: 1733
Joined: Tue Apr 05, 2011 7:38 pm

Re: RegReplace Plugin

Postby ricardosz on Wed Apr 01, 2015 6:15 pm

First of all let me say that i love this package, makes my life incredibly easier. :D
A few days ago all my "reg_replace" commands disappeared from the command palette and key bindings stopped working as well.
I did some troubleshooting but nothing seemed to help, eventually i installed a fresh copy of Sublime Text and the RegReplace package in a different machine only to find that not even the examples in the Default.sublime-commands seem to be working anymore.
On a fresh install, tried adding this command to the list

{
"caption": "Reg Replace: Remove Trailing Spaces",
"command": "reg_replace",
"args": {"replacements": ["remove_trailing_spaces"]}
},

but is does not show up in the command palette.
"open_file " commands seem to work fine, only the "reg_replace" ones are giving me problems.
Is anyone having the same problem ? Is there anything else i should check ?
ricardosz
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Apr 01, 2015 5:37 pm

Re: RegReplace Plugin

Postby facelessuser on Wed Apr 01, 2015 7:28 pm

1. Github repo's issue section is probably more appropriate for getting help as it actually notifies me and keeps a record in a place people can more easily find if they have similar issues.
2. ST2 or ST3?
3. Are you getting console errors? If you see no commands, usually it is because sublime failed to load the plugin. So search your console for errors you can share here.

RegReplace is working for me on ST3 OSX and Windows.
facelessuser
 
Posts: 1733
Joined: Tue Apr 05, 2011 7:38 pm

Re: RegReplace Plugin

Postby ricardosz on Wed Apr 01, 2015 8:49 pm

1) Done, moved to github. https://github.com/facelessuser/RegReplace/issues/29
2) ST2
3) Now that you mention the console, i do see an error on load there

Reloading plugin C:\Users\ricardosz\AppData\Roaming\Sublime Text 2\Packages\RegReplace\rr_extended.py
Reloading plugin C:\Users\ricardosz\AppData\Roaming\Sublime Text 2\Packages\RegReplace\rr_notify.py
Reloading plugin C:\Users\ricardosz\AppData\Roaming\Sublime Text 2\Packages\RegReplace\rr_plugin.py
Reloading plugin C:\Users\ricardosz\AppData\Roaming\Sublime Text 2\Packages\RegReplace\rr_replacer.py
Traceback (most recent call last):
File ".\sublime_plugin.py", line 62, in reload_plugin
File ".\rr_replacer.py", line 3, in <module>
from RegReplace.rr_plugin import Plugin
ImportError: No module named RegReplace.rr_plugin
Reloading plugin C:\Users\ricardosz\AppData\Roaming\Sublime Text 2\Packages\RegReplace\rr_sequencer.py
Traceback (most recent call last):
File ".\sublime_plugin.py", line 62, in reload_plugin
File ".\rr_sequencer.py", line 11, in <module>
from RegReplace.rr_replacer import FindReplace
ImportError: No module named RegReplace.rr_replacer
ricardosz
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Apr 01, 2015 5:37 pm

Re: RegReplace Plugin

Postby facelessuser on Wed Apr 01, 2015 9:52 pm

There was an ST3 fix backported to ST2, but I mistakenly released the ST2 release from the wrong branch. Release 1.10.1 for ST2 should fix this issue when available in Package Control.
facelessuser
 
Posts: 1733
Joined: Tue Apr 05, 2011 7:38 pm

Re: RegReplace Plugin

Postby TheoryX on Mon May 25, 2015 2:54 pm

I'm trying to replace few characters in my text, for example "š" with "\v{s}" but it doesn't work :/
- for replace with "\v{s}" i get error: Error trying to parse settings: Invalid escape in Packages/RegReplace/reg_replace.sublime-settings:87:24
- for replace with "\\v{s}" it just changes to: 'vertical tab sign'{s}

can someone please explain how to keep \v?
TheoryX
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon May 25, 2015 2:35 pm

Re: RegReplace Plugin

Postby facelessuser on Tue May 26, 2015 7:32 pm

\v is not a recognized back reference. Since you are suing Python's re regex module, you need to use something that works with that, so here is a simple example:


Code: Select all
        "unicode_test": {
            "find": "replace me",
            "replace": "<verttab>\u000B<verttab>"
        }


Good luck!
facelessuser
 
Posts: 1733
Joined: Tue Apr 05, 2011 7:38 pm

Previous

Return to Plugin Announcements

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests